CSUSB Water Leaders


Each year the Advisory Board of the WRI chooses a recipient to receive an award recognizing their contributions to the filed of water resources. Each past recipient has been a proven leader at the local, state or federal level of leadership in the water community and beyond.


In 2015, the WRI distributed both a Water Legend and a Water Conservation Award, as voted upon by our Community and Faculty Advisory Boards. The selected awardees were recognized at a dessert and wine reception in the Obershaw Dining Room on the California State University San Bernardino campus.

Water Legend Award
Anthony Araiza
General Manager, West Valley Water District

Criteria: Recipient must be a proven leader at the local, state, or federal level of leadership in the water community and beyond. Focus is mostly on local leaders. We would like to recognize individuals who have made a specific and profound contribution to the Archives and/or the development of sustainable water resources in California. The contribution can be manifested in spirit, works, or understanding, resulting in profound contribution to the water community.


Water Conservation Award
Stacey Aldstadt
General Manager, San Bernardino Municipal Water Department


Criteria: Recipient must be a proven leader at the local level, and can be an individual or agency. Must have contributed significant impact on water conservation and the drought.


Lifetime Achievment Award in Water Resources Recipients


steele_mug William Steele, Manager of the Southern California Area Office of the Bureau of Reclamation, Lower Colorado Region.
John Anderson, Board Member for the Inland Empire Utilities Agency.
Gerry Gerard Thibeault, Executive Officer of the California Regional Water Quality Control Board, Santa Ana Region.
Joe Grindstaff P. Joseph Grindstaff, Executive Director CALFED.
Louis Fletcher

Louis Fletcher, General Manager (retired), San Bernardino Valley Municipal Water District.

Congressman Jerry Lewis

Congressman Jerry Lewis, (R-Ca, 41)

Art Littleworth Arthur Littleworth, Water Attorney.
John Brudin John Brudin, General Manager (retired), Eastern Municipal Water District.
Lois Kreiger Lois Kreiger, Director (emeritus), Western Municipal Water District and Metropolitan Water District of Southern California.
Ruben Ayala

Ruben S. Ayala, State Senator (emeritus).


Water Hero Awards

The Water Hero Award was distributed annually at the Lifetime Achievement Award Banquet that recognizes individuals who have made a profound contribution to the archives and/or the development of sustainable water resources in the Inland Empire.


Joe Rowe

Our first named Water Hero, named in 2007, was Joseph A. Rowe to recognize his generous and magnificent gift of his father’s and his own water based library.  This collection is the cornerstone of the Joseph A. Rowe Water Resources Archives that is part of the Water Resources Institute at Cal State San Bernardino. 

Hubert Webb

The 2008 recipient was Hubert Webb, the patriarch of Albert A Webb Associates, a well-respected engineering company located in Riverside.  Hubert is also the son of Albert Webb, the founder of this remarkable firm, which has been lead by three generations of Webb family members.

Bob Holcomb

The recipient in 2009 was Robert Holcomb, former Mayor of the City of San Bernardino, who was largely responsible for the California State University selecting San Bernardino for an inland campus, primarily because of the abundant water supply that was available. He is best remembered for his opposition to the San Bernardino Valley joining the Metropolitan Water District of Southern California.


The recipient in 2010 was Ralph Wagner, long-time leader in tackling difficult and complex water resource issues in the Lake Arrowhead Community. He was honored for his many years of service as an Advisory Member of the San Bernardino County Flood Control District and Board Director for both the Lake Arrowhead Homeowners Association and the Lake Arrowhead Community Services District.